REVIEWS

We love to hear your comments and suggestions.
Scroll to the bottom and click on POST A COMMENT

REVIEWS

This CafĂ© Looks & Tastes So Good, It is Hard to Believe By Visit Indiana on July 21, 2017
click here to read article in a new window



This Unique Indiana Restaurant Offers Homemade Cuisine In An Unforgettable Setting.
November 11, 2017 by 

click here to read article in a new window




A HIDDEN JEWEL This is one of my favorite places. It's nestled in the woods with nature at its best. Even if the food was not to brag about, the ambiance is absolutely incredible. Inside and outside, it's a wonderful experience. A must for anyone looking for something out of the ordinary.


OUR LOVELY LUNCH
My husband and I absolutely Love Batar so much we decided to name one of our AQHA Race Horse fillies after the name ! ! It is the most lovely atmosphere and so peaceful for a nice quiet lunch!! Our Favorite in town!!
Diane in Seymour, IN
Introducing R BATAR.
We at Batar are thrilled and sincerely honored. 
Go get'em champ!
















I love to come here!
Sandy in Columbus IN

I love this place
Karen in Crothersville

It's a neat place
Julie in Fondulac WI


MMMMM MMMM GOOD.


Two friends and I had lunch at Batar's yesterday and it was a lovely treat. We were told to turn off our cell phones, which was unusual but actually a quite nice way to relax and enjoy the meal. Everything was delicious. Two of us had the quiche and salad while the third had a large salad. The only disappointment was that a butter subsitute was served with the roll and I prefer real butter which they don't have. We also had an opportunity to visit the music museum next door and it was a treat as well...open only Thurs., Fri. and Sat. Also, wild turkeys pecked away in the garden and lawn area too! 



Myra in Muncie, IN



This is great!

Connie in Louisville KY

Really pretty.
Kay in Dillsboro IN

My Red Hat group (24 of us) enjoyed our lunch there today. Everyone was gracious to us, the food was very good and the dinning area is quaint and very clean. Asking that we turn off our cell phones was no problem. We enjoyed the undistrubed peace. Anyone wishing to use their cell phone only had to step outside. I hope to go back this summer with my daughters.
PS The musical museum is wonderful, too. 
V. McGuirk in Floyds Knobs, IN

WONDERFUL
My friend and I visited Batar and were so impressed, the food was just wonderful and the Cafe was just so sweet and quaint. Loved the gift shop. Looking forward to visiting again soon. E veryone there was so friendly
D. Hancock in Salem, IN

GREAT ATMOSPHERE
Wonderful place to visit at Christmas (or any other time). Food good, reasonably priced and good service. Great ambiance - the kittens out the window were an added bonus!
Shirley, Nance and Ben (Yahoo User Reviews)



MEDIA REVIEWS


HAPPY TRAILS
The Indiana Foodways Alliance serves up eateries, events and culinary trails.
Source: Home and Away magazine. MARCH 2013
By Susan Hayhurst

For those who find fast food boring and instead are seeking a more diverse dining experience, the Indiana Foodways Alliance boasts local, fun food served in congenial atmospheres in locations peppering the Hoosier state. From coffee cafes to confectioneries and fish farms to fine dining, the stops along the alliance’s culinary trails  ...read more (a new window will open - you will not leave this page)


Cafe Batar Serves Up Meals, Gifts

Source: Seymour Tribune, December 11, 2012
By Jessica Squires

At least one local restaurant has caught the attention of a statewide food critic.
Cafe Batar, which closed for the season Saturday, was featured this autumn on the Indiana Foodways Alliance’s Indiana Culinary Trails blog, “Tales from the Trails.” On the blog, writer Angie Fay Satterfield said the restaurant is her “new addiction.”
The restaurant is east of Interstate 65 on U.S. 50 near the Jackson and Jennings county line.
The restaurant started in 1998 ...read more (a new window will open - you will not leave this page)


Alliance Features Local Restaurants
Source: The Banner - Jackson County Indiana. 
October 10, 2012
Five Jackson County restaurants were recognized recently by the Indiana Foodways Alliance, a statewide, non-profit organization dedicated to the celebration, promotion and preservation of the authentic food culture of Indiana. 

The alliance is a membership organization of culinary historians, chefs, food journalists, restaurateurs, culinary tourists, artisans and manufacturers. Jackson County Visitor Center is a member of the alliance.
...read more (a new window will open - you will not leave this page)



Cafe Batar, Meet My New Addiction!
Source: Indiana Foodways Alliance - September 7, 2012
By Angie Fay Satterfield
Cafe Batar, if I wrote poetry I would write an ode to you, your salads, pork chops, and especially my newest addiction, your butter cookies! I now drive an hour just to taste your scrumptious ...read more.  (a new window will open - you will not leave this page)


Cafe Batar perfect for delightful luncheon spot 
Source: Republic, June 27, 2007
By Brenda Showalter 
SEYMOUR — Thanks to the suggestions of several readers, I visited a charming restaurant recently, Cafe Batar, on U.S. 50 just west of Muscatatuck National Wildlife Refuge, is nestled in a wooded area surrounded by flower gardens. My friend and I sat at a table next to a large window overlooking the flowers and birdfeedersWe loved watching hummingbirds flutter about as we enjoyed our lunch.The cafe , owned by Lester and Barbara Tracy of Seymour, opened seven years ago and has developed a loyal following of customers.

My guess is the ladies will like this place more than the men, but the food was delicious and portions plentiful. I loved the bright red-and- white decorating theme with checkered table cloths and cherries stenciled on the walls. A small gift area in the front included delicate teacups, teapots and children's tea sets plus handmade coasters and flavored coffees and teas.
Only open for lunch Thursday through Saturday (with special groups on Wednesdays), the fare is on the light side with such dishes as chicken salad, quiche, wraps, soups and a salad fruit plate.
I love quiche and was not disappointed in the flavorful chicken and broccoli quiche topped with lots of cheese and baked in a flaky crust. It was served with a side salad and soft yeast roll.

My friend had the chicken wrap stuffed with chicken, lettuce, tomatoes, cheddar cheese and Vidalia onion dressing and served with chips and a dish of fresh fruit.





We both had a cup of cheesy potato soup and liked that it was on the light side with generous chunks of potatoes.

We also enjoyed iced cranapple raspberry tea and indulged on pralines-and-cream flavored coffee with our dessert.

The chocolate raspberry cake and hot apple-pecan "Bun Appletite" were beautifully presented and tasted heavenly. Next time, I want to try the cherry cobbler.
If a wonderful meal wasn't enough, the business also includes a Parlor Music Museum, run by Lester Tracy, with a large collection of antique musical instruments, record albums and 64 years of Life magazines.

The cafe also has special events throughout its March through December opening including grandmother-granddaughter teas, Red Hat group gatherings and Christmas musical events.

This place is a delight and great place for a special lunch.



8 comments:

Norma Wilson said...

Looking forward to your reopening for the new season. See you soon!!

Anonymous said...

It's a magnificent place to eat & just relax! The beautiful garden with the hummingbirds buzzing around was just excellent! I came on a bright and sunny day with my mom, sister & brother and we all enjoyed the food, along with the lovely 180° view of the garden. Thank you for building such a wonderful tea room.

Anonymous said...

The "SWEET SHOP" recently prepared for us the mini "whoopie pies" for a very special event. Was a BIG hit and very delicious! Would recommend them to anyone wanting something "special" and good.

Anonymous said...

My granddaughter and I enjoyed at Disney Tea Party. It was great and the staff did a great job. My granddaughter said " Best Tea Party ever"

Linda & Carolyn said...

A Memorable Lunch
Delicious food and excellent service. The strawberry cake for dessert was as tasty as it was beautiful. Linda & Carolyn

Adelel Cordes said...

I have taken my mother-in-law, daughter, granddaughters and friends to Batar. The food is delicious, the atmosphere and all around dining experience is fabulous. If you are reading this you should be treated or treat someone else to a luncheon at Batar at some time in your life, it is that special!! The staff are really courteous and professional in serving the customers too!

Adele Cordes
Columbus, IN

Peggy Maze said...

I hosted a baby shower in Muscatatuck Hall. It's an absolutely beautiful facility with fantastic views. Barb and the staff were very friendly and helpful. I couldn't have been happier with the service and the facility. Would recommend Batar to anyone considering hosting a small gathering. Their rental price was extremely reasonable.

Anonymous said...

Perfection PLUS!!!!

I do not even know where to begin. I was told about Batar a year ago by a friend of mine and it took me a year to visit this precious, little treasure!!! Now I have been there twice in two m months!! They close soon and I will be back before the 16th of December (closing date). I have already marked my calendar for mid-March when they re-open. Can't wait!!! The staff is lovely!! Oh so pleasant and sweet!!! The food is divine and the sweet shop and gift shop are terrific!!!! THIS IS A MUST SEE!!!! You won't regret it!!!!